Skip to content

The UNESCO’s World Heritage List

Undoubtedly, the Serra de Tramuntana mountain range is one of the most striking features of this wonderful island. Its awe-inspiring karstic landscape is marked by agricultural terraces, dry stone walls and foot-paths, torrent watercourses and lusciously rich vegetation of holm-oak woods and olive-tree plantations.

Yesterday, at the 35th session of the UNESCO World Heritage Committee in 
Paris, France, Mallorca’s Serra de Tramuntana was given the long-desired World Natural Landscape Heritage status. The UNESCO World Heritage Committee comprises representatives of 21 countries. María Salom, the newly elected president of the Consell de Mallorca, only sworn in a few day ago, must be particularly pleased about the laurels, even though she did not have to work for the distinction. Nevertheless, ¡enhorabona!

The photo was borrowed from the Internet, courtesy of and the photographer, Marcos Molina.

Moltes gràcies.

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent Comments


  • 1,606,583 visits


Copyright © November Press 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to November Press and Mallorca Daily Photo Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Copyleft ©© Klaus Fabricius 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

%d bloggers like this: