Skip to content

Mallorca and the Olympics 2008 in Beijing

Joan Llaneras, Margalida Fullana, Rudy Fernández, Rafael Nadal and Nuria Llagostera are amongst the 15 athletes that represent the Balearic Islands during the Games of the XXIX Olympiad, Beijing (China).

Joan Llaneras from Porreras (shown above) will participate in his fourth Olympics yet. He already won Gold in Sydney and Silver in Athens, and is thus Mallorca’s only athlete with two Olympic medals. Marga Fullana from Sant Llorenç des Cardassar won a Bronze medal in Sydney. Rafa Nadal attended the Athens Olympics but had to retire after one day due to a left foot injury. He wants to do well this time, in Beijing, and so he should, considering his top form this year.

Only twelve days until 08-08-08 and the Opening Ceremony.

Good luck to all 15 Balearic medal aspirants (12 from Mallorca, 2 from Menorca and one from Ibiza).

The photo (top) was borrowed from the Internet. Credit is due to AP; the photo is by Daniel Ochoa de Olza.

The Olympic Logo is Trademarked by the Beijing Organizing Committee for the Games of the XXIX Olympiad (BOCOG). No infringement on the BOCOG’s rights is intended.

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent Comments


  • 1,601,215 visits


Copyright © November Press 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to November Press and Mallorca Daily Photo Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Copyleft ©© Klaus Fabricius 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

%d bloggers like this: