Skip to content

Library of Mallorcan Artists


One can find a lot of art in Palma de Mallorca. Plenty of the artworks are sculptures, lots of which are placed in public spaces.

This one here is a work by Austrian born artist, Ben Jakober (Vienna, 1930), which you can see in the gardens of the Centre Cultural de la Misericordia, at the top of the Ramblas de los Duques de Palma. The Sculpture is called Library III and is an homage to Mallorcan artists, writers, painters, poets, composers, like Joan Miró, Costa i Llobera, Guillem Sagrera, Ramon Llull, etc., or artistic personalities related to Mallorca, such as the Archduke Lluis Salvador, Ricardo Anckerman, Robert Graves.

There are other versions of similar Libraries by the same artist, one more in Palma (see below top), one in Pollença (see below centre), and one in the gardens of the Fundación Yannick y Ben Jakober, in Alcúdia (see below bottom). The artist currently resides in Malta.

The main photo was taken in Palma de Mallorca, Baleares, Spain. The date: August 22nd, 2007. The time was 17:10:59.

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


  • 1,555,171 visits


Copyright © November Press 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to November Press and Mallorca Daily Photo Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Copyleft ©© Klaus Fabricius 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

%d bloggers like this: