Skip to content

El Rey Del Clay


Rafa Nadal, the 22 year old from Manacor, Mallorca, made it into the history books once more. He became the first player to win five Monte-Carlo Masters titles in succession after yesterday (April 19th) beating Novak Djokovic 6-3, 2-6, 6-1 at the tournament in the municipality of Roquebrune Cap-Martin.

Nadal had beaten Guillermo Coria in the Monte-Carlo final in 2005, and then Roger Federer in 2006, 2007 and 2008. Now Djokovic from Serbia was defeated in the 2009 final in two hours and 44 minutes. Novak Djokovic has never beaten Nadal on clay court, but yesterday deservedly managed to take a set from the World No. 1. Nadal had not surrendered a set in Monte-Carlo to anybody since 2006 when Federer took a set from him but finally had to succumb to Rafa.

Yesterday’s win was Nadal’s 34th career win since he turned professional in 2001, 23 of which on clay courts. Nadal also holds 5 career wins as a doubles player.

The photo was taken from the TV set in my local bar in Felanitx, Mallorca, Baleares, Spain. The date: April 19th, 2009. The time was 16:58:41.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent Comments


  • 1,601,277 visits


Copyright © November Press 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to November Press and Mallorca Daily Photo Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Copyleft ©© Klaus Fabricius 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

%d bloggers like this: