Skip to content

Hail, Raimundus Lullus


Raimundus Lullus, better known as Ramon Llull, was a writer, a mystic and a philosopher from the 13th Century. He was born in Palma de Mallorca in 1232. His personæ is hailed as one of the pillars of Mallorcan cultural history.

Llull has written 265 works, quite possibly even more, in a number of languages, mainly in Catalán, Latin, Arabic and Occitane. He wrote the first novel ever to be written in the Catalán language, Blanquerna, which is considered by some as the first European novel. His major works are said to be Ars Magna and Llibre de Meravelles.

He lived as a hermit for nine years after he had a religious epiphany. He became a Franciscan monk and later established Miramar, a Franciscan monastery in the Mallorca Tramuntana mountains. He preached unification of the three monotheistic faiths of the world, Judaism, Christianity and Islam. He was a truly amazing man.

Llull died in 1316. You can visit his grave (see photo) at the church of San Francisco, in Palma.

The photo was chosen from my archive. It was taken in Palma de Mallorca. The date: January 10th, 2006. The time was 18:35:02.

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent Comments

November 2007


  • 1,611,458 visits


Copyright © November Press 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to November Press and Mallorca Daily Photo Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Copyleft ©© Klaus Fabricius 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

%d bloggers like this: