Skip to content

The Esglèsia de Santa Eulàlia

After the Catalan conquest in 1229, Palma de Mallorca was divided into four parishes; one of them being the Parròquia de Santa Eulàlia. The church has recently undergone an extensive restoration, both, internally with a new lighting installation and externally with a thorough clean-up, including a new pinnacle to repair some storm damage a few years ago. The Esglèsia de Santa Eulàlia was built in the late 13th century in the Gothic style on top of an Islamic mosque. Santa Eulàlia is the only church in Palma – apart from the Cathedral – with a design of three nave sections. The belfry was built during the 19th century and is said to have been inspired with its height and its pointed capital by the Salisbury Cathedral.

This church is of particular significance in the history of the island, in as much as the coronation of Rei Jaume II took place here in 1276, proclaiming him as the first king of the newly created Regne de Mallorca.

The photo was taken in Palma de Mallorca, Baleares, Spain. The date: August 16th, 2010. The time was 13:57:17.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


  • 1,623,717 visits


Copyright © November Press 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to November Press and Mallorca Daily Photo Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Copyleft ©© Klaus Fabricius 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

%d bloggers like this: