Skip to content

The Copa del Rey

The 30th Copa del Rey will be held in the Badia de Palma (Bay of Palma) between July 30th and August 6th. This sailing event is one of the most important regattas in the Mediterranean Sea and can be compared with the Fastnet Race in England, the U. S. Big Boat Series of San Francisco, the Middle Sea Race in Italy or the Sydney to Hobart race in Australia. It all began in 1982 when a regatta was held in Palma as one of the events of the Campeonato Internacional del Mediterráneo (International Championship of the Mediterranean). In 1984, the boat race was renamed as Copa del Rey.

For this year’s event, a total of 118 boats have registered for the week-long sail over ten trials, including 60 vessels from Spain and the remainder, from countries like Italy, Germany, Britain, France, Russia, USA, Argentina, the Netherlands, Portugal, Japan and the United Arab Emirates. Today at 13h00, the participating teams will be presented at the Real Club Náutico de Palma. The actual regatta will be held from August 1st to 6th.

The photo was borrowed from the Internet., courtesy of

Muchas gracias.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


  • 1,623,741 visits


Copyright © November Press 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to November Press and Mallorca Daily Photo Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Copyleft ©© Klaus Fabricius 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

%d bloggers like this: