Skip to content

Olympic Gold For Mallorcan Athlete

Joan Llaneras from Porreres won Spain’s second Gold medal in the Beijing 2008 Olympics, yesterday, the day when the Mallorcan pueblo celebrated its summer Festes de Sant Roc. Llaneras won Gold in the Points Race in Men’s Cycling, with a total of 60 points, beating Germany’s Roger Kluge (Silver) with 58 points and British Chris Newton (Bronze) with 56 points.


Beijing 2008 is Joan Llanera’s fourth Olympic Games participation. He won Gold in Sydney 2000 and Silver in Athens 2004. He is now Mallorca’s only athlete ever with three Olympic medals. There are twelve Mallorcan athletes competing in Beijing 2008.

The photo was taken off my TV screen in Felanitx, Mallorca, Baleares, Spain. The date: August 16th, 2008. The time was 13:31:57.

1 reply »

  1. What a fantastic achievement for Joan.
    It is particularly rewarding to see the smaller participating teams
    achieve success over the dominant large countries like USA and China.
    Not that I have anything against them as you have to admire all
    the participating athletes from all corners of the world.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent Comments


  • 1,606,003 visits


Copyright © November Press 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to November Press and Mallorca Daily Photo Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Copyleft ©© Klaus Fabricius 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

%d bloggers like this: