Skip to content

The Procesión Del Silencio

The first of the Easter processions in Felanitx was held last night, the Processó del Silenci (Procesión del Silencio, Silent Procession). In Spain, tradition has it that one of the processions during Setmana Santa (Easter week) is held in complete silence and solemnity, with the quietness only broken by a deep and throbbing drumbeat. To the uninitiated, the visual effect combined with the soundlessness and the pulsating drumbeat may give the impression of eeriness, especially as it all happens at night with the streets only dimly lit. On the other hand, one could call the procession solemn and peaceful, dignified and awe-inspiring. Beauty, as always, is in the eye of the beholder.

There are more parades to be held in Felanitx, later on during the week. The Processó de la Sang tomorrow evening, a procession where long church candles are held by all participants, is probably the best attended of all Felanitx processions.

The photo was taken in Felanitx, Mallorca, Baleares, Spain. The date: March 30th, 2010. The time was 21:19:22

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent Comments


  • 1,612,031 visits


Copyright © November Press 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to November Press and Mallorca Daily Photo Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Copyleft ©© Klaus Fabricius 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

%d bloggers like this: