Skip to content

Cofradías In Felanitx

Cofradías (Castellano, or Catalan: Confrarias) are confraternities, fraternities or brotherhoods. In Felanitx, there are nine such associations with hundreds of members between them, including females and minors.

Last night, the Davallament was presented, a spectacle which has been performed annually since 1975. The show is a synopsis of the suffering, the death and the crucifixion of Jesus, ably directed by José Luís Fernández. The play is made up of five acts (Last Supper, Ecce Homo, Encounter with Maria, The First Fall, and El Davallament [Taking off the Cross]). The Passion play is always performed on the steps of the Església de Sant Miquel. After the performance, a procession involving all of Felanitx’s fraternities accompanies a statue representing Jesus Christ to the Església de Sant Agustí, where it is left, awaiting resurrection. The Christ figure will be brought back from Sant Agustí to Sant Miquel tomorrow, Sunday, where it will be reunited with a Maria statue in a rather moving procession that is called El Encuentro (The Encounter).

The photos were taken in Felanitx, Mallorca, Baleares, Spain. The date: April 1st and April 2nd, 2010. The time was 20:48:56 and 22:04:16, respectively.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


  • 1,623,736 visits


Copyright © November Press 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to November Press and Mallorca Daily Photo Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Copyleft ©© Klaus Fabricius 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

%d bloggers like this: