Skip to content

The Solemn Sound Of Silence

Last night, the first of this year’s Easter processions was held in Felanitx, the Processó del Silenci (Procesión del Silencio, Silent Procession). The procession started with a congregation at the parish church of Sant Miquel, where my photo was taken, and proceeded through the narrow streets of the town centre of Felanitx to the Convent de Sant Agustí. There was no sound other than a throbbing drum beat. A solemn affair.

There will be more processions in Felanitx, as every year. Dates are tomorrow, April 21st, Friday, April 22nd, and Sunday, April 24th. There will be similar Easter processions in virtually each and every town and pueblo in Mallorca, during this Setmana Santa, as well as in Palma. Check the local press and media for more information. And enjoy the powerful visual allure of it all. No need to go to church for it, if that should bother you.

The photo was taken in Felanitx, Mallorca, Baleares, Spain. The date: April 19th, 2011. The time was 22:09:39.

1 reply »

  1. Amazing photo! I recently attended Palm Sunday service at the National Cathedral in Washington, DC (visiting from my home in NY.) It’s fascinating to see how differently this time is celebrated around the world.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


  • 1,623,300 visits


Copyright © November Press 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to November Press and Mallorca Daily Photo Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Copyleft ©© Klaus Fabricius 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

%d bloggers like this: