Skip to content

Día de les Illes Balears 2008


March 1st, 1983, was an important day for the people of the Balearic Islands. That’s 25 years ago today, and near enough eight years after the death of Generalissimo Franco.

The Illes Balears were granted the status of an Autonomous Community within Spain, and a new Statute to go with the new identity (Estatut d’Autonomia de les Illes Balears). This statute, by the way, was revised and reformed in 2007.

Thus, this day (today) is celebrated as the Día de les Illes Balears and as a public holiday. Everything will be shut today in Mallorca, Menorca, Ibiza and Formentera, but obviously, not in the rest of Spain.

Palma de Mallorca and the Govern Balear will celebrate today with a number of activities and some official functions, with festivities extending well into tomorrow, Sunday. After all, 25 years make it a Silver Anniversary.

The photo was taken at Cort, the City Hall of Palma de Mallorca, Spain (built 1649-1680). The date: February 28th, 2008. The time was 12:31:19.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


  • 1,519,049 visits


Copyright © November Press 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to November Press and Mallorca Daily Photo Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Copyleft ©© Klaus Fabricius 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

%d bloggers like this: