Skip to content

Fame in Valldemossa


Mallorca’s number one tourist attraction appears to be the Real Cartuja in Valldemossa, the erstwhile Dominican monastery where Frederic Chopin and George Sand spent their historic Winter in Mallorca, almost 170 years ago (number 2 is the Cathedral in Palma, in case you wanted to know).

But, Valldemossa takes also fame for having housed the Royal Palace of Mallorcan King Sancho I (1311-1324), who re-housed there to find relief from his asthmatic condition.

In the same Palau Sanxo, the Nicaraguan poet Rubén Darío lived for a year, during 1913; he is well remembered in the town’s historic annals.

Just around the corner, Argentinian writer, Jorge Luis Borges, lived for some time after World War I.

There was much more fame for some more people in Valldemossa over the last 150 years, but too many to tell you about on the limited one minute time span that some of you give me everyday, for my Mallorca Daily Photo Blog.

The photo was taken in Valldemossa, Mallorca, Spain. The date: March 9th, 2008. The time was 16:46:12.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent Comments


  • 1,509,595 visits


Copyright © November Press 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to November Press and Mallorca Daily Photo Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Copyleft ©© Klaus Fabricius 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

%d bloggers like this: